Ramadan and Itikaaf Types

Main menu


Ramadan and Itikaaf  Types

                               Ramadan and Itikaaf                                                     Virtues of Itikaaf Issues and Rulings 


  Staying in the mosque with the intention of reward is called Itikaaf.  In Itikaaf, a person leaves worldly pursuits and goes to the door of Allah Almighty, i.e. the mosque.  The special relationship and closeness that is created by engaging in worship with full attention has a unique glory in all worships.

  There are three types of Itikaaf:

Masnoon Itikaaf: 

          This is the Itikaaf of the last ten days of Ramadan, which is a Sunnah of Ali al-Kifaya.  Itikaaf begins on the twentieth day of Ramadan, shortly before sunset, and continues until the Eid moon appears. Through this Itikaaf, one attains the worship of Shab-e-Qadr in close proximity to God Almighty, in which worship is better than worshiping for a thousand months, that is, five years, according to the command of God Almighty.  The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) always observed Itikaaf in Ramadan from the time of fasting until the time of his death in 9 AH.

Obligatory Itikaaf: 

        This is necessary because of making a vow: for example, if someone says that if I have done something, I will observe Itikaaf for so many days.  Itikaaf of at least one day with fasting is necessary for vows.

Mustahab Itikaaf: 

          Whenever a person enters a mosque, he should make the intention that as long as I stay in this mosque, I make the intention of Itikaaf. There is no restriction on time and fasting in this ItikaafItikaaf ends when you leave the mosque.